Raw Onion on your Foot Overnight?

Last week I was perusing Facebook, and I came across a health article about how sleeping with a raw onion in your sock can draw out toxins from your body. I was like seriously? Is this a hoax? Then I told my mom about it and she said that she had heard about this “onion phenomenon” thing about 20 years ago.

I decided to do some research. Apparently, Chinese doctors found that there are thousands of tiny nerve endings on the bottom of the feet. These nerve endings act as access points to the internal organs. They are also closely linked to the nervous system. Onions have strong anti-bacterial and anti-viral properties. Onions have phosphoric acid, which is what makes you cry when you chop them, that acid supposedly purifies and helps remove the toxins from your blood.

anatomy-254120__340

When you cut an onion and place it on the bottom of the foot, it gets right to work removing toxins and healing your body. Compounds from onion have been reported to have a range of health benefits which include anti-carcinogenic properties, anti-platelet activity, anti-thrombotic activity, anti-asthmatic and antibiotic effects. The thing is, I have no idea how people test that the onion is specifically doing this.

Some people say it is a myth, some people swear that it works. There have been limited studies and experiments tested, so who really knows? I think if you are really health conscious, you should eat onions and also give the foot thing a try just for fun…it can’t hurt you (but it might make your bed smell).

clothes-2027993__340

I have not tried this yet, I’m waiting until I have to wash my sheets!

Happy onion socking?

Leave a Reply

