My Interview with a Skeptic

I decided it would be super interesting to interview with someone who was opposed to trying a low-carb lifestyle. I want to find out some of the reasons why many people frown upon the Atkins Diet, and why they will not even attempt it.

I work in a local retail department store in Milwaukee, WI, and one of my co-workers is the perfect person to interview because like me, she is trying to lose weight but is trying a different weight-loss plan and is really against cutting carbs. Courtney is in her mid 40’s, has two adult children, she is very open and honest, and also is a great conversationalist. She did request that I did not put her picture on here, and not to mention her last name.

Let’s get some answers.

Courtney, can you tell me a little about your background, and your struggle with losing weight? 

Sure, I think I struggled with my weight all of my life. I was always the “chubby” kid that everyone made fun of. I tried losing weight countless times, and have tried hundreds of diets over the years. I always lose weight really quickly, and then as soon as I feel really good, I start up my bad eating habits, and manage to gain it all back, plus more.

What was the best and worst diet plans that you have tried?

Oh gosh, the worst for sure was when I was on a 350 calorie a day diet. I was basically starving myself, but stayed on it for a couple of months because the weight was literally melting off of me. The best would probably be weight watchers because you never feel deprived of anything, and you still lose weight at a healthy rate.

Do you know of anyone who has tried the Atkins Diet?

Yes, I’ve had a couple of friends use it back when it first became popular. My sister also stayed on it for like a year, and that was about seven years ago.

I know your not really a fan of Atkins, can you tell me why that is?

I have several reasons. First, I absolutely love carbs, so I think it is crazy that you can never eat bread or pasta at least occasionally. I feel like you are deprived of a lot of types of food on that diet, and it is very hard to stick with.

Secondly, I feel that the food you can eat is somewhat unhealthy, and I don’t understand how it works. When my sister was on Atkins, every time we went grocery shopping, she was buying bacon, cream, mayonnaise, and cheese. She did buy some vegetables, but you cannot get all your proper nutrients from those types of food alone.

My third reason is that everyone I know who went on Atkins gained all of the weight back, and then like another 50 pounds. I think that if you do go on Atkins, you  have to stick to it for the rest of your life just for it to work.

Would you ever consider trying a low carb lifestyle? 

Honestly, no (laughing). I know that sounds horrible, but I know myself enough to realize that after a week or two, I will be diving head first into the bread, or chocolate aisle at the store, and be really angry about the deprivation with this diet. I think it does work with some people, but I can tell that it is not for me.

Do you have any advice for people who are trying to lose weight?

I would say the best advice would be to find what works for you, and to never give up. I know I struggle constantly with food, but I also have to tell myself that tomorrow is a new day and that it is not the end of the world if I eat a package of M&M’s once in awhile. I think you have to try some diets before you know what works for you, so never feel bad if you fail at one.

I want to say a huge thank you to Courtney, who took time out of her busy schedule to talk with me about a very personal topic.

I definitely agree with her in that the Atkins diet is not for everyone, and that she did make several good points during her interview with me. Once again, thanks Courtney!

Leave a Reply

