Run. Walk. Move.

I always think of exercise as really daunting. I never really played sports as a child, and I don’t have that strong motivation to move all that much. I find it easier to eat the right things, than exercise everyday…and maybe that is weird but it’s just who I am.

My favorite thing to do in the entire world is swimming. I do not have access to a pool, and I never want to swim with other people-so that option is out. I really love taking Zumba classes, but cannot afford a gym membership at this time. So, my reality right now is using my treadmill in my basement, or walking outside.

I really love walking outside because I find myself getting extremely bored on a stationary treadmill. My lucky Springer Spaniel Wilbur is taking every advantage of my new routine, and we go on three walks a day. I think it is really important to just do something. Any movement is better than none, so try to find something that you like.

Sometimes it is the little things that count. Taking the stairs, parking far away so you have to walk further to your destination, or just walking to get the mail instead of driving up to the mailbox. If you can, buy a fitbit to track your steps because then that will give you a new challenge each day (I will be asking for one for my bday next week).

If you are anything like me, it will be really hard to keep up with exercising. I at times threaten myself by saying “you can watch your show if you go for a walk first”, and things like that. It sounds absolutely insane, but hey it works. Whatever you need to do to keep moving is a good thing, so keep at it.

Does anyone else feel like this? Let me know if I am absolutely crazy and was just born a couch potato.

Leave a Reply

