Roast Chicken in a Romertopf

Have you ever heard of a Romertopf? In German, this means “roman pot”. It is a baking dish made out of clay, that the romans used hundreds of years ago. If you want an authentic one, you have to buy it online from Germany. There are many different kinds and sizes, like smaller ones for bread, up to larger ones for turkeys (I have the largest one).

There are special instructions to follow if you want to use one. First you have to soak it in water for at least 15 minutes before you use it. Second, you have to put it in a cold oven, and then turn the temperature up. Third, when you take it out, you have to place it on a towel, otherwise it could shatter. Fourth, do not forget to add at least 1 cup of liquid like water or broth.

The benefits of cooking in one of these is amazing! I use it to cook chicken, turkey, and roast beef, and every time it comes out perfect! You never have to check on it because the steam inside makes the meat so tender and juicy. The meat even browns inside the pot.  You also use a higher temperature with this pot so to cook a roast chicken, I set my oven to 450 degrees.

First I washed my organic Amish chicken.

Next, I gathered seasoning I had in my pantry including thyme, rosemary, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and paprika.

I took a little butter and spread it over the breast, so it doesn’t dry out, and then rubbed all the seasoning on. It’s that simple!

img_0002

It turned out so crispy!

*if there is too much liquid, you can take the chicken out and put it under the broiler using a baking sheet until crispy.

It was in the oven at 450, for 90 minutes(my mouth was watering the entire time) I cannot describe how juicy and crispy the chicken turned out…it was DELICIOUS! Plus, there are no carbs in chicken, however there are some in the garlic powder but just a minimal amount. I would suggest you give it a try and buy a romertopf, its a really good investment in my opinion.

One thought on “Roast Chicken in a Romertopf

Leave a Reply

